About PCV

Our People


Palliative Care Victoria enjoys the long-standing support of two eminent patrons:
Dame Beryl Beaurepaire, AC, DBE and Sir James Gobbo, AC, CVO, KStJ.

Palliative Care Victoria Board

Palliative Care Victoria is an incorporated association and is governed by a voluntary Board of Directors. Seven board members are elected by members at an Annual General Meeting and two directors are appointed by the Board. The Board meets regularly to provide sound governance.

Current Board members are: Dr Barbara Hayes (Chair), Shannon Thompson (Vice-Chair), Michael Corry (Treasurer), Rachel Bovenizer, Dr David Brumley, Karen Conte, Dr Judi Greaves, Dr Claire Hepper and Jade Odgers.


Palliative Care Victoria is the peak body representing palliative care and other relevant health services and health professionals, patients, carers and people with an interest in palliative care. We have 174 members, including 96 organisation members.


Heather Stevens, Office & Member Services Manager
Heike Fleischmann, Volunteer Engagement & Capacity Building Manager
Maree Chilton, Accounts Manager (Tuesdays & Wednesdays)
Nora Fernandes, Community Engagement & Capacity Building Manager
Odette Waanders, Chief Executive Officer

Our Values

We respect the value, dignity, and human rights of people with a life limiting illness and their families.

We empower people to prepare for dying, grief and loss, and to be supportive and resilient.

We are truthful and ethical in all that we say and do.

We foster compassionate communities and the quality of life of people with a life limiting illness and their families.

Find a palliative care service